Users

Each person has a Solano CI user, which belongs to multiple organizations. Each user must belong to at least one organization. When you sign up for Solano CI, a new organization will be created for you.

Each user has a unique handle and email address, which can be changed by the user.

Organizations

An organization has one or more users. Organizations are how access to your code and test results are determined. All users in an organzation:

  • share suites and repositories
  • can view each other’s test results
  • receive CI build notifications
  • can start tests without having to provide their own billing info

Organizations also have unique handles. A user and organzation can have the same handle only if that user is an owner of that organization.

Roles

Users in a Solano CI organzation can be in one of three roles:

  • owners, who are responsible for billing and has full control
  • admins, who can add and remove users
  • collaborators, who can use all other Solano CI features

Collaborators aren’t considered full members of an organization, so if you are a collaborator in other organizations, you will also have a “personal organization” that you are the owner of.

Inviting Users

An account owner or admin can invite new users from the Solano CI web app, or via the CLI.

Web UI

You can add and remove users from your organizations page. Select Organization Settings for the organization you would like to modify, then select the Owners, Admins, or Collaborators tab.

CLI

Use the solano account:add command. For example, to invite a user as an admin:

$ solano account:add admin <email>

Removing Users

You can remove a user with solano account:remove. Removing the user doesn’t delete their repositories or results, it just prevents them from starting new tests or viewing results.

If you remove a user by mistake, or you want to change the role of a user, you can just add them again, and their environment will re-appear.

Organization Transfers

Organizations can have multiple owners, so to transfer ownership, simply add a new user with the owner role and optionally remove the old one.